The City operates a sanitary sewage collection system to collect wastewater and move it to Metropolitan Council treatment plants located in Empire Township and Eagan. The sanitary sewer system includes 24 lift stations. The lift stations pump sewage from low areas to higher elevations so it can flow by gravity.